Places in News Current Affairs - 2019

Places in news and current affairs for preparation of the Geography papers and map locations for UPSC Civil Services and State related examinations of 2019.

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

PM Narendra Modi addresses US Congress

Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressed the joint session of the US Congress on 8 June 2016.

Earlier PM Modi was invited to speak at the joint session by House of Representatives Speaker Paul Ryan.

He addressed the congress during his second official bilateral visit to the US after his trip in September, 2014. This was PM Modi’s fourth visit to the US since he assumed office in May 2014.

With this PM Narendra Modi became the fifth Indian Prime Minister to address a joint meeting of Congress, and the first since 2005. Earlier, Prime Ministers Rajiv Gandhi (July 13, 1985), P V Narasimha Rao (May 18, 1994), Atal Bihari Vajpayee (September 14, 2000) and Manmohan Singh (July 19, 2005) had addressed the joint meeting of the US Congress.

It should be noted that the tradition of foreign leaders and dignitaries addressing US Congress began with the Marquis de Lafayette, a French aristocrat and military officer. He had addressed the House Chamber on December 10, 1824.

Lucknow to host 2016 Junior hockey World Cup

The Lucknow city of Uttar Pradesh is going to host the 2016 Junior Men’s hockey World Cup. Announcement in this regard was made by the International Hockey Federation (FIH).

The Junior hockey World Cup would be held from 8th to 18th December 2016. The eleven-day long event will feature 16 teams.

They include defending champions Germany, Australia, Argentina, Belgium, Austria, Canada, Egypt, India, England, Japan, Korea, South Africa, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan and Spain.

Besides, Women’s Hockey Junior World Cup will take place shortly beforehand in Santiago, Chile, between November 24 and December 4, 2016. India will not be part of that event.

About Hockey Junior World Cup

  • It is an international field hockey competition organised by the FIH.
  • The tournament was started in 1979. It has been held every four years since 1985. Competitors must be under the age of 21.
  • Germany has won this cup for six times i.e. most titles. India, Australia, Argentina and Pakistan have each won the tournament once.