Sports & Games Current Affairs - 2019

Latest Sports Current Affairs 2019 for National and International sports and tournaments, awards, trophies and cups related to cricket, football, tennis and other sports for UPSC, SSC, States, Civil services and other competitive examinations.

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

IAAF Council: Adille Sumariwalla re-elected as its member

The President of Athletics Federation of India (AFI), Adille Sumariwallam has been re-elected as member of Council of International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF). His election is for a second four-year term.

Key Highlights

The election took place during 52nd Congress of sport’s world governing body at Doha, Qatar. The elective Congress was held just two days before World Athletics Championships opens in Doha.

Adille Sumariwallam who is a former Olympian, received 121 votes to get elected as one of the 13 individual members of IAAF Council.

Sebastian Coe (62) of Britain was also re-elected unopposed as IAAF President for a second term. He is the former Olympic and world champion middle-distance runner.

Along with Sumariwallam and Co, four Vice Presidents were also elected.

About International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF)

It is the international governing body for sport of athletics.

It was established on 17 July 1912 in Stockholm, Sweden. It is headquartered in Monaco.

Membership: 215 member federations

The Best FIFA Football Awards 2019

The Best FIFA Football Awards 2019 were presented at La Scala opera house in Milan, Italy. It is an association football award presented annually by FIFA, the highest governing body of football. The  FIFA The Best Football Awards

FIFA’s The Best Awards ceremony: List of Winners

Best Men’s Player: Lionel Messi of Barcelona & Argentina

Best Men’s Goalkeeper: Alisson Becker of Liverpool & Brazil

Best Men’s Coach: Jürgen Klopp of Liverpool

Best Women’s Coach: Jill Ellis of United States

Best Women’s Player: Megan Rapinoe of Reign FC & United States

Best Women’s Goalkeeper: Sari van Veenendaal of Arsenal & Atlético Madrid and Netherlands

FIFA Fair Play Award: Marcelo Bielsa and Leeds United squad

FIFA Puskás Award for Best Goal of the Year: Daniel Zsori of Hungary who scored for Debrecen against Ferencvaros in Hungarian league

Men’s World 11 team of year:

Alisson Becker (BRA/Liverpool)

Virgil Van Dijk (NED/Liverpool), Marcelo (BRA/Real Madrid), Sergio Ramos (ESP/Real Madrid), Matthijs De Ligt (NED/Juventus)

Frenkie De Jong (NED/Barcelona), Luka Modric (CRO/Real Madrid), Eden Hazard (BEL/Real Madrid)

Lionel Messi (ARG/FC Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (POR/Juventus), Kylian Mbappe (FRA/PSG)

Women’s World 11 team of year:

Sari Van Veenendaal (NED/Atletico Madrid)

Lucy Bronze (ENG/Lyon), Nilla Fischer (SWE/Linkopings), Wendie Renard (FRA/Lyon), Kelly O’Hara (USA/Utah Royals)

Julie Ertz (USA/Chicago), Amandine Henry (FRA/Lyon), Rose Lavelle (USA/Washington)

Marta (BRA/Orlando), Alex Morgan (USA/Orlando), Megan Rapinoe (USA/Reign FC)