Chief Ministers Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

J&K Chief Minister Mufti Mohammad Sayeed passes away

Jammu & Kashmir Chief Minister Mufti Mohammad Sayeed passed away due to multiple organ failure at the AIIMS hospital in New Delhi. He was 79.

Mr. Sayeed, a two-time Chief Minister of J&K had started his second tenure on March 1st, 2015 heading Peoples Democratic Party-Bhartiya Janta Party (PDP-BJP) coalition government.

About Mufti Mohammad Sayeed

  • He was born on 12 January 1936 in Anantnag district of South Kashmir.
  • Political career: He had started his political career with Democratic National Conference (DNC) Party of G M Sadiq from grassroot level in 1950s.
  • For first time he was elected to J&K state assembly from Bijbehara in 1962. During this time he has served as Deputy Minister in G M Sadiq led state government.
  • Later he fell out with the DNC and joined the Indian National Congress (INC) becoming cabinet minister in Congress Government.
  • In 1987 he left the Congress Party and co-founded Jan Morcha with former Prime Minister V.P. Singh.
  • He left the Congress party in 1999 along with his daughter Mehbooba Mufti to form his own Jammu and Kashmir People’s Democratic Party (PDP).
  • Chief Minister: For first time he became CM in 2002 heading PDP-Congress coalition government and was in office from November 2002 to November 2005.
  • Union Minister: He had served as Union Minister for Tourism and Civil Aviation in Rajiv Gandhi Government in 1986.
  • In 1989, he became first Muslim Minister for Home Affairs in the Union Cabinet headed by then PM V.P. Singh.

Nitish Kumar sworn in as the Chief Minister of Bihar for 5th time

Senior Janta Dal United (JDU) leader Nitish Kumar has sworn in as the Chief Minister (CM) of Bihar for the record fiftth time.

He was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Bihar Governor Ramnath Kovind at oath taking ceremony held at the Gandhi Maidan in Patna.

Apart from him, Governor also administer oath of office to 28 ministers from Grand Alliance comprising RJD, JD(U) and Congress parties.

First time MLA Tejaswi Prasad Yadav and Tej Pratap Yadav who are sons of RJD president Lalu Prasad were also sworn in as ministers.


  • Grand Alliance comprising of RJD, JDU and Congress (INC) had emerged victorious in the 2015 Bihar state assembly elections by winning 178 seats of total 243 assembly seats.
  • RJD led by former Union Minister Lalu Prasad had emerged as largest party in the Grand Alliance by winning 80 seats. It was followed by JDU which had won 71 seats and Congress 27.

About Nitish Kumar

  • Born on: 1st March 1951 in Bakhtiarpur District of Bihar.
  • Political career: He had started his political career by taking part in the mass movement led by Jayaprakash Narayan between 1974 and 1977.
  • Kumar was elected to Bihar legislative assembly for first time in 1985. He was elected to Lok Sabha for 4 consecutive times, first in 1989 than in 1991, 1996 and 1998.
  • Union Minister: In 1990, for a brief stint he had served as Union Minister of Agriculture. In 1998-99, he had served as Union Minister for Railways and Surface Transport and Minister for Agriculture. He also had served as Union Cabinet Minister for Railways in the NDA Government led Atal Bihari Vajpayee from 2001-2004.
  • CM of Bihar: In 2000, he was made CM of Bihar for first time but had resigned within 7 days. In 2005 for second time he was sworn in as the CM of Bihar and for third time in 2010. For fourth time he was sworn-in as CM in February 2015 till November 2015 state Assembly election.