Chief Ministers Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Jayalalithaa sworn-in as Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu for fifth time

Jayalalithaa was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu for the fifth time on 23 May 2015.

Governor K. Rosaiah administered the oath of office and secrecy to her at oath taking ceremony held at Centenary Auditorium of the University of Madras in Chennai.

With this, Jayalalithaa became 29th chief minister of Tamil Nadu for record fifth time which matches the record of former state CM and DMK leader M Karunanidhi.

Apart from Jayalalithaa, 28 other ministers also took oath of office and secrecy. All the ministers for the first time in the history of the state took oath of office and secrecy as a chorus.


  • In September 2014, she had stepped down as the CM after trial court convicted and had sentenced her to 4 years in jail in the 19-year old Disproportionate Assets case.
  • After this judgment of trial court she was disqualified as an MLA in accordance section 8 of the Representation of People’s Act (RPA), 1951.
  • However, Karnataka High Court had acquitted her in the disproportionate assets case on May 11, 2015 which had paved way for her to take over the reins as CM of Tamil Nadu again.

Section 8 of RPA, 1915: Any convicted person sentenced to imprisonment for more than two years is disqualified from the date of such conviction and further barred from contesting election for 6 years after the release.

Former Bihar CM Ram Sundar Das passes away

Former Bihar Chief Minister (CM) Ram Sundar Das passed away on 6 March 2015 in Patna. He was 95.

Das was a leader of the Janata Dal (United) political party and had led the JDU government as the Chief Minister of Bihar from 21 April 1979 to 17 February 1980.

He was elected from Hajipur constituency in Bihar to the 10th Lok Sabha in 1991 and was re-elected to the 15th Lok Sabha from the same constituency in 2009.

However in 2014 Lok Sabha, he was defeated by present Union Minister of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution Ram Vilas Paswan after he contested from Hajipur constituency.

Das is survived by one daughter and two sons . His wife passed away earlier.