Ministry of Law and Justice Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Postal ballot for disabled & voters aged above 80

On the recommendation of Election Commission, the Union Ministry of Law and Justice has amended Conduct of Election Rules, 1961, on October 22 that will now allow senior citizens and person with disabilities (PwD) in absentee voter list. The absentee voter refers to a vote cast by someone who is unable to go to polling station.

Key Highlights

The disabled and people with more than 80 years of age can now cast their vote through postal ballot. This will enable people from these two categories to cast their votes with ease and will also thus increase voter turnout.

In both these categories there are people who are unable to reach polling stations and thus are unable to cast their votes. Currently voting through postal ballot is available to Indian armed forces and to those assigned poll duties.

The poll officer will attest absentee voter in case of senior citizens and PwDs in form 13A.

In 2019 Lok Sabha elections, about 60.14% of absentee voters voted through e-postal ballot while in the general election during 2014 this figure was just 4%.

CEA Krishnamurthy Subramanian appointed part-time member in IBBI

Krishnamurthy Subramanian, Chief Economic Adviser (CEA) and B. Sriram, former managing director (MD) and chief executive officer (CEO) of Industrial Development Bank of India (IDBI Bank) were appointed part-time members of Insolvency and Bankruptcy Board of India (IBBI).

K Subramanian, an Indian School of Business (ISB) Hyderabad professor was appointed chief economic adviser for a period of 3 years in December 2018.

Their appointment was approved by Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC), which is composed of Prime Minister of India (who is Chairman), Union Minister of Home Affairs and the order for appointment was issued by Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT).

About Insolvency and Bankruptcy Board of India

  • IBBI, an insolvency regulatory agency was established on 1 October 2016. It was given statutory powers by Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code (IBC), the bankruptcy law of India which was passed by Lok Sabha on 5 May 2016.
  • The IBC 2016 established Insolvency and Bankruptcy Board of India (IBBI), to oversee insolvency proceedings in India and to regulate entities registered under it.
  • The IBBI Governing Board consists of 10 members, including representatives from the Ministry of Finance (MoF), Ministry of Law and Justice, Ministry of corporate affairs (MCA), and Reserve Bank of India (RBI).
  • IBBI act as a regulator for overseeing insolvency proceedings and entities such as Insolvency Professionals (IP), Insolvency Professional Agencies (IPA) and Information Utilities (IU) in India.
  • IBC covers Individuals, Companies, Partnership firms and Limited Liability Partnerships and handles cases under it using tribunals namely National company law tribunal (NCLT) and Debt recovery tribunal (DRT).